The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

May be appropriate for ages 8 ‒ 13(and up)

First published in: 1950

Available Copies

There are no copies in stock at the moment.


Fantasy, Narnia series

The Book, in Brief

This is the best-loved of all the Chronicles of Narnia, the first one ever written, the one that everyone remembers reading. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe introduced readers to the wonders and enchantment of Narnia when it was first published almost fifty years ago. Since then, the hearts and imaginations of millions of readers have been caputured by the story of Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy, who step through a magic wardrobe into Narnia, once the peaceful land of Talking Beasts, dwarfs, giants and fauns, but now frozen into eternal winter by the evil White Witch. Second in the series chronologically.

Book Description

In the never-ending war between good and evil, The Chronicles of Narnia set the stage for battles of epic proportions. Some take place in vast fields, where the forces of light and darkness clash. But other battles occur within the small chambers of the heart and are equally decisive. Journeys to the ends of the world, fantastic creatures, betrayals, heroic deeds and friendships won and lost -- all come together in an unforgettable world of magic. So open the door and enter a new world. The second volume in The Chronicles of Narnia The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Narnia ... a land frozen in eternal winter ... a country waiting to be set free. Four adventurers step through a wardrobe door and into the land of Narnia -- a land enslaved by the power of the White Witch. But when almost all hope is lost, the return of the Great Lion, Aslan, signals a great change ... and a great sacrifice.

The Chronicles of Narnia

1. The Magician's Nephew | 2. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe | 3. The Horse and His Boy | 4. Prince Caspian | 5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader | 6. The Silver Chair | 7. The Last Battle |